There were 3 series’ of Chorlton and the Wheelies spanning from 1976 – 1979 with each series consisting of 13 episodes.  These added to the Christmas special made a total of 40 episodes.

Brief storyline: Wheelie World is a land inhabited by Wheelies.  Long ago, this land was full of happiness and laughter, but then the wicked Fenella arrived on the scene, and set up home in Spout Hall – a kettle – on the outskirts of the Wheelie Kingdom.

Evil Fenella cast her spell and the colour faded from the land, the laughter was silenced and all the Wheelies became sad and dejected.  Until one day a large, brightly coloured egg arrived and from it emerged a strange and wonderful creature – Chorlton, The Happiness Dragon.  This happy fellow brought back the joy and laughter to Wheelie world, and now, Fenella spends her time trying to defeat and destroy the happiness that Chorlton radiates to all in Wheelie World.


Narator : Joe Lynch
Writer : Brian Trueman
Music : Joe Griffiths
Camera : Jim Noble
Editor : Dave Street
Animators : Jackie Cockle & Joe Dembinski
Director : Chris Taylor
Producers : Brian Cosgrove & Mark Hall